Dark Moon Books
spacer spacer                                                             spacer
  Go here to Home Page Go here to Books Page Go here to Contact Page  
  Go here to About Page Go here to Resources Page Go here to Submissions Page  
  Exploring Dark Short Fiction #2: A Primer to Kaaron Warren   Purchase Here  

Exploring Dark Short Fiction #1: A Primer to Steve Rasnic Tem

Click here for full cover wrap
(Click above for full cover wrap)


Australian author Kaaron Warren is widely recognized as one of the leading writers today of speculative and dark short fiction. She’s published four novels, multiple novellas, and well over one hundred heart-rending tales of horror, science fiction, and beautiful fantasy, and is the first author ever to simultaneously win all three of Australia’s top speculative fiction writing awards (Ditmar, Shadows, and Aurealis awards for The Grief Hole).

Dark Moon Books and editor Eric J. Guignard bring you this introduction to her work, the second in a series of primers exploring modern masters of literary dark short fiction. Herein is a chance to discover—or learn more of—the distinct voice of Kaaron Warren, as beautifully illustrated by artist Michelle Prebich.

Included within these pages are:

  • Six short stories, one written exclusively for this book
  • Author interview
  • Complete bibliography
  • Academic commentary by Michael Arnzen, PhD (former humanities chair and professor of the year, Seton Hill University)
  • . . . and more!

Enter this doorway to the vast and fantastic: Get to know Kaaron Warren.


Pending February, 2018 Release...


Barnes and Noble
Pending February, 2018 Release...



Available in paperback
ISBN-13: 978-0-9989383-0-1

and e-book

First edition published February, 2018




  “Pending.” —Reviewer  
  “Pending.” —Reviewer  
  “Pending.” —Reviewer  

Kaaron Warren

Author, Kaaron Warren


Kaaron Warren is an Australian author of horror, science fiction, and fantasy short stories and novels.

She is the author of the short story collections Through Splintered Walls, The Grinding House, and Dead Sea Fruit. Her short stories have won Australian Shadows Awards, Ditmar Awards and Aurealis Awards.

Her three novels, published by Angry Robot Books, are Slights, Walking the Tree and Mistification.

Kaaron was Special Guest at the 2013 Australian National Science Fiction Convention.

<pending further...>


Full Contents Include:

Introduction by Eric J. Guignard
Fiction Stories by Kaaron Warren
   •   Guarding the Mound
   •   Born and Bread
   •   Death's Door Café
   •   The Wrong Seat
   •   Sins of the Ancestors
   •   <pending title>



Kaaron Warren: A Biography
Essay: Why Kaaron Warren Matters
In Conversation with Kaaron Warren
<pending title>: An Essay by Kaaron Warren
A Bibliography of English Language Fiction for Kaaron Warren
Academic Commentary by Michael Arnzen, PhD
Illustrations by Michelle Prebich

  And check out these other great Dark Moon Books titles!:  
  After Death...   Dark Tales of Lost Civilizations   The Five Senses of Horror   Exploring Dark Short Fiction #1: A Primer to Steve Rasnic Tem          
Arthur Conan Doyle